NL - FR - ENG
Logo
Works The Artist Galleries News Contact



Clif Ardi and the meaning of life in her works.

The Latin – american art tradition, which combines colourful abundance and beauty, is still very much alive today. In her recent past, the Belgian artist Clif Ardi, Cécile Hardy in real life, spent time in Nicaragua where she met artist Rosi Lopez, who initiated her in the art of ceramics.

Clif Ardi has created a world not associated with anorexic divinities, but one inhabited by voluptuous women with juicy thighs, casually surrendering themselves to the reflections of their impossible lives. The artist commits herselfe to more than her natural talent; she preserves a great honesty. Fashion-like statements or magical tricks aren’t her tools:“the road less travelled” is the one she favours. Her research of indigenous people in Central-America and their cultural colourful expressions, has enriched Clif Ardi and translates into her works of art.

Presently, so many years later, she enjoys the recognition she deserves.

Love has never been as beautiful as humanized by tenderness. The sculptures of Clif Ardi aren’t just moulded but are brought to life. Slight deformations, virtuosically demonstrated, sometimes naďve; comfortable with “the mother figure”, anonymous, absent, massive, voluptuous, generous as only a mother can be, defending and courageous.

The aesthetics of her unique subjects are clearly inspired by the pre-Colombian forms and figures, representing good luck and prosperity.

Ardi wants to amaze and bewilder through compositions coloured with common popularity, dream and reality which give her works their alienating attraction. Her artworks are saved from the getto of classicism to artistically embrace the space, free from stereotypes. Her present creations sizzle; her exciting journey has finaly come to present us a mature artist whose universe deserves more than just our attention.



Lucien Rama ;
Art Criticus
January 2007

NL - FR - ENG
Logo
Oeuvres L'Artiste Galeries Actualités Contact



Clif Ardi, la vie fait son œuvre.

La tradition qui associe l’abondance à la beauté est toujours très vivace en Amérique latine. Il n’est pas si loin le temps où l’artiste, Clif Ardi, Cécile Hardy de son vrai nom, séjourna au Nicaragua. Elle y rencontre la céramiste Rosi Lopez qui l’initie au travail de la céramique, mais également toute une culture bien différente de la nôtre.

Son monde n’est pas fait de maigres divinités, il est habité de belles femmes plantureuses, aux hanches pleines, qui se prélassent nonchalamment en songeant à leurs vies impossibles. Elle ne s'en remet pas à ses dons naturels. Il ne lui suffit pas de jouer de sa facilité. Certes, elle conserve une grande sincérité. Elle ne fait cependant de concession ni à la mode, ni aux faux-semblants, ni aux procédés de succès prouvé. Elle s'est nourrie de l'étude approfondie du peuple, d’une autre culture aux couleurs tropiques et elle nous en parle.

Aujourd’hui, la vie a fait son chemin. L’artiste est reconnue.

L’amour n’est jamais plus beau qu’humanisé par la tendresse. Clif Ardi ne montre pas les formes, elle les fait vivre : d'où parfois des déformations ou des raccourcis, qui ne sont ni naïveté, ni démonstration de virtuosité, mais fidélité à des femmes ou à des mères, anonymes ou apathiques, souvent massives, volumineuses, presque adipeuses mais combien maternelles, généreuses, protectrices et courageuses.

L’esthétique de ses personnages de terre est assez éloignée de l’orthodoxie des canons occidentaux. Et elle surprend toujours car les déformations excessives laissent croire à la caricature ou à l’ironie. C’est oublier qu’il y a peu de temps encore, en Afrique ou en Amérique centrale le fait d’avoir des formes renvoyait à une idée de prospérité, de joie, de bonne humeur, de bonhomie.

Ardi aime étonner, surprendre. Ses compositions colorées mêlent philosophie populaire, songe et réalité ; d’où l’étrange et fascinante attirance qu’elles exercent. Avec elle, l’art sort du ghetto étroit du classicisme pour s’emparer de l’espace, se développer hors des stéréotypes, des représentations.

Aujourd’hui, Clif Ardi nous propose une œuvre qui palpite . Un parcours captivant qui nous révèle avec pudeur la grâce d’une femme dont l’univers mérite de retenir toute notre attention.


Lucien Rama ;
Critique d’art
Janvier 2007